Goodwood Festival

The Goodwood Festival – popularly known as Glorious Goodwood – takes place each year in late-July/early-August, and the five-day festival is one of the highlights of the Flat season. There are three Group 1s which take place throughout the week, namely the Goodwood Cup, the Sussex Stakes and the Nassau Stakes.

The Sussex Stakes was famously dubbed as the ‘Duel on the Downs’ when Frankel and Canford Cliffs went head to head in 2011, and has kept the name since, with other clashes including Toronado and Dawn Approach in 2013, and Kingman and Toronado in 2014. Away from the pattern races, Glorious Goodwood also plays host to the Stewards’ Cup, one of the most competitive sprint handicaps of the year, with a maximum field of 28 runners.




Goodwood Festival Top Trainer

Sir Michael Stoute – 80 winners

Mark Johnston – 78 winners


Goodwood Festival Top Jockey

Frankie Detttori – 69 winners

Ryan Moore – 46 winners


Battaash – Made it back-to-back wins in the King George in 2018

£10 free when you register for premium imeform

Races at the Goodwood Festival

The five-day festival features three Group 1 races, and has a host of supporting pattern races, including the Lennox Stakes. There is also plenty of competitive, big-field handicaps that take place, notably the Stewards’ Cup.

Lennox Stakes - A very valuable Group 2 over seven furlongs, open to horses aged three and older

Goodwood Cup - A Group 1 over two miles open to horses aged three and older

Sussex Stakes – A Group 1 over a mile open to horses aged three and older

Nassau Stakes – A Group 1 over a mile and a quarter for fillies and mares aged three and older

King George - A Group 2 sprint over five furlongs

Stewards’ Cup – A six-furlong handicap for three year olds upwards


Frankel won the Sussex Stakes in 2011 and 2012


Goodwood Festival Betting

There is massive interest in betting at the Goodwood Festival  both with the online and betting shop bookies in the UK & Ireland. The five-day Goodwood Festival is shown on ITV and a huge audience will tune in to cheer on the UK & Irish runners. Given the competitive nature of racing at the meeting, all the big bookmakers usually have different offers on, so you are advised to shop around before placing your bets.


Goodwood Festival Free Bets & Betting Offers

As with any big race, the top online bookies like Paddy Power and Betfair will have Free Bets and Glorious Goodwood Betting Offers. Often the bookies will give you an enhanced price on one of the favourites, or they may offer a Bet Through The Card – get free bets when you bet on the first race of the Goodwood meeting. Either way, we have you covered here with the best sign-up offer and betting specials for the Goodwood Festival.




Glorious Goodwood Runners & Form

Timeform is your best bet for finding the winner at the Goodwood Festival. When the race card for each day of the Goodwood Festival is available over on our Races page, you will be able to find the latest form and insight on all of the Goodwood Festival runners from the team of expert tipsters at Timeform. Our Goodwood Festival runner-by-runner guides will be available on our website and on our mobile app

Find winners on the move with the Timeform App

Goodwood Festival Tips

Want to know which horses the expert Timeform Tipsters are backing at the Goodwood Festival? You can get free tips for the Goodwood Festival either on the Timeform website or app. However you like to bet, Timeform has you covered with Goodwood Festival betting tips.  

Goodwood Festival Latest News, Odds & Results

Follow all the build up to the Goodwood Festival on the News pages at Timeform. Whether you are after the latest betting odds, market movers, going updates and non-runners, plus the latest from the stables of the top horses for the Goodwood Festival, you’ll find it right here. Simply want to know which horse was first past the post? Then go to our Results page to get the latest Goodwood Festival results.


Goodwood Cup Past Winners – this Century

Sussex Stakes Past Winners – this Century

Nassau Stakes Past Winners – this Century