Bet Slip
My Bet Slip
How to use My Betslip
Placing a Single Bet Placing a Multiple Bet Manage bookmakers

Simply click a price on Race Passes and we’ll take you off to place your bet with your favourite bookmaker. You can also place single bets from the Bet Slip – just click the price in the Bet Slip.

Our Bet Slip allows you to build up your selections before you begin placing multiple bets with your favourite bookmakers. Click the +BET button to add your selections and then, when you’re ready, hit ‘Bet Now’ to go to your chosen bookmaker’s site and place your bets.

Select the bookmaker prices you want to display on Race Passes by switching the toggles between show and hide in the Bookmaker Manager, or use the Currently Showing selection screen. We will automatically display the best odds from your chosen bookmakers.

Note that Betfair Exchange prices are available to logged in customers only and are not included in the best odds calculation.

Bets Odds
You currently have no selections.
timeform logo mini sign in to timeformSign In

register to timeformRegister Free Bets
timeform menu collapse
search timeform's website

Jockeys' Championship: Will the changes make a difference?


Simon Rowlands examines how recent jockeys' championships would have played out under the new format.

The changes to the British Flat jockeys’ championship, announced on Monday and to come into effect this year, have occasioned much discussion and more than a little ire in racing circles, with one commentator lambasting the move as “total garbage” and another claiming it showed “no respect for tradition.”

The previous method for determining the Champion Flat Jockey in Britain took into account the number of winners ridden between Lincoln Handicap Day and November Handicap Day, the customary start and end of the Flat turf season.

In future, the time period covered will be between the start of the Newmarket Guineas Meeting and British Champions Day, roughly 24 weeks as opposed to 32 weeks.

It is interesting to consider what difference this would have made to the outcome of recent titles. The answer is, bluntly, “none”, though that admittedly does not allow for possible changes in behaviour by jockeys as a result of the new parameters.

The top four jockeys by number of winners in 2012, 2013 and 2014 would all have been the same, and in the same order, regardless of whether the timescale used was the long version or the short version, as the following tables show.


The new timeframe does mean that the jockeys’ championship will both commence and complete on major occasions in the Racing Calendar, with the British Champion Flat Jockey being crowned on British Champions Day in October.

In addition, the Champion Jockey will get a prize award (of £25,000) for the first time, as will the runner-up, the Leading Apprentice, the jockey to have ridden most winners in the calendar year, the All-Weather Champion Jockey and monthly winners.

Debate is likely to continue to rage about the best way to determine Britain’s Champion Flat Jockey, with suggestions made having included: considering the full calendar year; considering only winners in Group and listed races; taking into account just prize money; using Timeform’s unique jockey ratings; and having an end-of-year “play-off” between monthly winners.

What is certain is that the jockeys’ championship and the trainers’ championship are even more out of kilter now than previously. The latter is determined on wins gained between November of one year and November of the next.

The situation regarding the trainers’ and jockeys’ championships was discussed at length in the essay on Sky Lantern in Timeform’s Racehorses of 2013 Annual.

New Timeform customers get £10 FREE downloads! Click HERE and simply enter code TFF10 when you register.


Horse racing free bet offers

  • Bet £10 Get £30 in free bets

    New customers only, place a min £10 bet on any Sportsbook market at odds of at least 1.2 (1/5) and we’ll give you £30 in free bets. Only deposits made using Cards or Paypal will qualify for this promotion. See below for full T&C's.

    Read Betfair Review
  • Bet £10 Get £40 - £30 in sports free bets plus get a £10 free bet for in-play horse racing

    New customers only, place a €/£10 bet on any Sports market - min stake €/£10, min odds 1/2 (1.5) & get €/£30 in free bets + a €/£10 free bet on in-play Horse Racing. Only deposits made using Cards or Paypal will qualify for this promotion. Free bets are valid for 30 days and must be used on a Sports market. After the the qualifying bet has settled, €/£30 in free bets will awarded automatically & in-play racing free bet will be available to claim from the promo hub. T&Cs apply.

    Read Paddy Power Review
  • BET £10 & GET £60

    *New Customers only. Deposit and place a £10 qualifying bet at odds of 2.00 or greater within 7 days of opening a new account. Receive 5x £10 Free Sports Bets, valid on set events only, expires in 7 days, plus a £10 Casino Bonus, expires in 3 days. Wager the Casino Bonus 40x to withdraw winnings. Credit or Debit card deposits only. T&Cs Apply, See Below. Please Gamble Responsibly

    Read BetVictor Review
Follow us on Twitter



1st Callum Shepherd silk 1. SWISS CROSS 8/19
2nd Kieran O'Neill silk ½ 11. WILD FLOWER (IRE) 12/113
3rd Josephine Gordon silk ¾ 8. WATCH TAN 14/115
T: Phil McEntee  
10 ran. NRs: 3  7 


1st Luke Morris silk 9. HOMBRE CASADO (FR) 9/25.5
2nd David Egan silk ½ 10. PARNASSIAN (IRE) 25/126
3rd Tom Queally silk ½ 2. KEYSER SOZE (IRE) 5/16
J: Luke Morris  
T: Ed Walker  
All 10 ran.


1st Hayley Turner silk 4. SILVER RIVER 4/51.8f
2nd Oisin Murphy silk 1. LISSITZKY (IRE) 14/115
3rd Rossa Ryan silk ¾ 8. PURE COUNTRY 66/167
13 ran. NRs: 11 


1st Charles Bishop silk 8. NO DIGGITY (IRE) 11/26.5
2nd Tom Queally silk 1. COBWEB CATCHER 9/43.25f
3rd Liam Jones silk 10. EYE OF THE WATER (IRE) 10/111
All 12 ran.


1st Robert Havlin silk 10. LADY LAWYER (USA) 15/82.87f
2nd Jim Crowley silk ¾ 3. BINT SOGHAAN 5/23.5
3rd William Buick silk sh 7. GIVE ME BREATH 12/113
T: John Gosden  
All 13 ran.


1st William Buick silk 7. DESIROUS 4/61.66f
2nd Tom Marquand silk hd 4. BLACK MEDICK 40/141
3rd Robert Havlin silk ½ 1. PENNYWHISTLE (IRE) 10/34.33
12 ran. NRs: 8 


1st David Egan silk 1. BAYROOT (IRE) 8/19
2nd Adam Kirby silk 1 10. PRIVATE ROCKET (IRE) 7/18
3rd Jim Crowley silk 3 6. JIRNAAS 16/117
J: David Egan  
T: Roger Varian  
13 ran. NRs: 5 


1st Amelia Glass silk 2. LITTLE MISS LILLY 14/115
2nd Oisin Murphy silk 5. BROUGHTON EXCELS 11/102.1f
3rd Luke Morris silk ½ 1. CARLOVIAN 7/42.75
J: Amelia Glass (7)  
T: Clive Cox  
All 10 ran.


1st Stevie Donohoe silk 8. MUSHARRIF 10/111
2nd David Allan silk hd 6. VAN GERWEN 11/43.75
3rd Harry Russell silk nk 3. RED PIKE (IRE) 12/113
All 9 ran.
Go to Horse Racing Results