menu Free Bets

Guide to
Royal Ascot

timeform mobile

Diamond Jubilee Stakes 2021 Racecard

The Diamond Jubilee Stakes is a Group 1 sprint held over six furlongs, and is the feature race on the fifth and final day of Royal Ascot, which is traditionally held on the middle Saturday in June.


The race is open to four-year-olds and up, though three-year-olds from the southern hemisphere are also permitted to take their chance. Fillies and mares who run in the race receive a 3 lb allowance.

The race has been subject to several name changes over the years, having been established in 1868 as the All-Aged Stakes. It had its first name chance in 1926, when it was named the Cork and Orrey Stakes in 1926 in honour of the ninth Earl of Cork and held Group 3 status, before being upgraded to Group 2 status in 1998.

The race was renamed once again in 2002 to the Golden Jubilee Stakes, to commemorate the Golden Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II that year, and at the same time was upgraded to Group 1 status. The race’s name was changed once again in 2012, to its current title of the Diamond Jubilee Stakes, to commemorate the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II.

The Diamond Jubilee Stakes is one of the biggest sprint races in the world, and regularly attracts competitors from around the world, particularly Australia. It is the sixth leg of the Global Sprint Challenge, a ten-race international series which was inaugurated in 2005.

The race used to be open to three-year-olds, but was restricted to four-year-olds and up in 2015, alongside the creation of a new race at the same meeting, the Commonwealth Cup, which is for three-year-olds only.

There have been several famous renewals of the Diamond Jubilee Stakes, though none perhaps more so than the 2012 renewal, which was won by the unbeaten Australian superstar Black Caviar. Brought over specifically for the race, Black Caviar was sent off a 6/1-on favourite for the race, and quickened clear to lead inside the final furlong, before her rider, Luke Nolen, dramatically mistook the winning line and eased off his mount with 50 yards to go. Nolen quickly realised his error, and shook up Black Caviar once again to hold off the late challenges of Moonlight Cloud and Restiadargent to hold on to the win for the Peter Moody team.

The 2005 renewal of the Diamond Jubilee Stakes (known then as the Golden Jubilee Stakes), along with the rest of Royal Ascot that year, took place at York due to Ascot racecourse being renovated.

The leading trainer in the Diamond Jubilee Stakes is Vincent O’Brien, with five winners: Welsh Saint (1970), Saritamer (1974), Swingtime (1975), Thatching (1979) and College Chapel (1993).

The leading jockey in the Diamond Jubilee Stakes is Lester Piggott, with ten winners: Right Boy (1958 & 1959), Tin Whistle (1960), El Gallo (1963), Mountain Cell (1968), Welsh Saint (1970), Saritamer (1974), Swingtime (1975), Thatching (1979) and College Chapel (1993). timeform mobile app


Days Hours Mins Secs




£26.63 Henry Oliver's profit to a £1 level stake with only one runner on the card (chases) (saddles CHEROKEE BILL)
£29.00 Anna Newton-Smith's profit to a £1 level stake with only one runner on the card (chases) (saddles BURGESS DREAM)
20% Henry Oliver's strike rate in mid season (saddles CHEROKEE BILL)