Bet Slip
My Bet Slip
How to use My Betslip
Placing a Single Bet Placing a Multiple Bet Manage bookmakers

Simply click a price on Race Passes and we’ll take you off to place your bet with your favourite bookmaker. You can also place single bets from the Bet Slip – just click the price in the Bet Slip.

Our Bet Slip allows you to build up your selections before you begin placing multiple bets with your favourite bookmakers. Click the +BET button to add your selections and then, when you’re ready, hit ‘Bet Now’ to go to your chosen bookmaker’s site and place your bets.

Select the bookmaker prices you want to display on Race Passes by switching the toggles between show and hide in the Bookmaker Manager, or use the Currently Showing selection screen. We will automatically display the best odds from your chosen bookmakers.

Note that Betfair Exchange prices are available to logged in customers only and are not included in the best odds calculation.

Bets Odds
You currently have no selections.
timeform logo mini sign in to timeformSign In

register to timeformRegister
timeform menu collapse
search timeform's website

Arlington Million: Deauville can deliver for O'Brien


Adam Houghton previews Saturday's Arlington Million and the chief supporting races on a high-class card.

The world’s first one-million dollar horse race – first staged way back in 1981 – this year sees the 35th renewal of the Arlington Million. Now, the astute among you will quickly realise that the numbers don’t quite add up here. Continually mired in politics, Illinois racing has – and continues to have – a rather chequered and storied existence. Arlington Park actually closed down at the end of its 1997 racing season and didn’t reopen until 2000, when the Million was run for the one and only time for a prize of two million dollars – go figure, as our American cousins say.

The favourite for this year's renewal is the Aidan O'Brien-trained Deauville. O'Brien recorded the last of his two victories in the Arlington Million six years ago with Cape Blanco, who also raced in the colours of Mrs Fitri Hay. Deauville is seemingly a better horse this year than when half a length third to Mondialiste in this race (Kasaqui second, The Pizza Man sixth) 12 months ago, having produced a career-best effort when also third on his penultimate outing in the Queen Anne Stakes at Royal Ascot. He failed to capitalise on a drop in the grade in the Meld Stakes at Leopardstown last time, but did nothing wrong, only giving best late on to one who was in receipt of 3 lb, and he sets a clear standard on weight-adjusted ratings here.

The European challenge is completed by Fanciful Angel and Mekhtaal, though the latter will reportedly continue his racing career in the US after the race. Fanciful Angel is a smart performer on his day for Marco Botti, and proved better than ever when winning handicaps at Meydan in January and Chelmsford in May, but more is clearly needed to figure here. Mekthaal, on the other hand, is already a Group 1 winner, having landed the Prix d’Ispahan at Chantilly (by a neck from Robin of Navan) in May. He ran to a similar level when sixth in the Prince of Wales’s Stakes at Royal Ascot last time and looks sure to go well again here, though he has been done no favours by the draw in stall 13.

That comment also applies to last year’s Secretariat Stakes winner Beach Patrol (stall 10) and Divisidero (11), who look best of the home defence on ratings. Beach Patrol was giving Ascend 8 lb when a length and a half fourth to that rival in the Manhattan Stakes at Belmont in June and may have paid the penalty for disputing too strong a pace when third in the United Nations Stakes at Monmouth (Oscar Nominated seventh) last time. His placed record is much better than his actual win record, however, and a podium finish might be the best he can hope for again for the Chad Brown stable that won this race with Real Solution in 2013. Divisidero was half a length back in sixth in the Manhattan (giving Ascend 10 lb and Beach Patrol 2 lb) and should also be thereabouts.

A special mention must also be given to The Pizza Man, who was recording his tenth course success when winning this race in 2015. He was also only beaten a length and a half when trying to defend his title last year, but this looks a stronger renewal and he is unlikely to be improving at the age of eight. Enterprising, Ghost Hunter and Oak Brook, who all have a bit to find on ratings, complete the 12-strong field, with Deauville fancied to register a second Grade 1 success.

There is also plenty of European interest in the two chief supporting races on the card, the Secretariat Stakes and the Beverly D. Stakes. Dual Group 2 winner Permian, who ran as well as ever when a game nose second to Shakeel in the Grand Prix de Paris at Saint-Cloud last time, is a clear favourite for the first-named contest, but will likely face stiff competition from Oscar Performance and the Jean-Claude Rouget-trained Afandem. Taj Mahal, who represents the O’Brien yard that has won three of the last six renewals, is also particularly well treated by the conditions of the race – in receipt of 7 lb from Oscar Performance and Permian – and could be overpriced.

O’Brien is yet to win the Beverley D, but jockey Ryan Moore has done so on two occasions with Dank in 2013 and Euro Charline the following year. The duo team up with Pretty Polly and Irish Oaks runner-up Rain Goddess this time around and she looks a worthy favourite despite her wide draw. Chad Brown has won the last two renewals and his trio – Dacita, Grand Jete and Rainha da Bateria – have all won Graded races in the States. The former looks potentially the main threat to Rain Goddess, though the Argentinian-bred Dona Bruja and German raider Sarandia also have plenty to recommend them in a truly cosmopolitan event.


Back Deauville in the Arlington Million on Saturday 



race pass logo


Sunday 22 October
6. BYE BYE BABY (IRE) 112p
Seamie Heffernan silk Seamie Heffernan
Aidan O'Brien, Ireland
2. KENYA (IRE) 111p
Donnacha O'Brien silk Donnacha O'Brien horse in focus
Aidan O'Brien, Ireland
Pat Smullen silk Pat Smullen
John Patrick Murtagh, Ireland
Go to Full Race



1st Dougie Costello silk 6. ARROWZONE 11/43.75f
2nd Alistair Rawlinson silk 9. COCKNEY BOY 25/126
3rd Finley Marsh silk ½ 1. FILAMENT OF GOLD (USA) 15/28.5
T: Kevin Frost  
All 13 ran.


1st David Egan silk 2. HOT MUSTARD 5/16f
2nd Barry McHugh silk ¾ 6. THE KING'S STEED 8/19
3rd P. J. McDonald silk 3 11. PENY ARCADE 11/26.5
J: David Egan (3)  
T: William Muir  
12 ran. NRs: 5 


1st Dougie Costello silk 4. BORN TO REASON (IRE) 11/82.37f
2nd Luke Morris silk hd 9. STAMP DUTY (IRE) 11/112
3rd Tom Marquand silk hd 11. HENRY DID IT (IRE) 12/113
T: Kevin Frost  
11 ran. NRs: 2  8 


1st Stevie Donohoe silk 4. BALLYFARSOON (IRE) 9/25.5
2nd Georgia Cox silk 3. HERMARNA (IRE) 18/119
3rd Luke Morris silk ¾ 9. OCEAN GALE 13/27.5
T: Ian Williams  
All 13 ran.


1st Nicky Mackay silk 11. WISSAHICKON (USA) 7/24.5
2nd Richard Kingscote silk ns 4. CRAVING (IRE) 9/43.25f
3rd P. J. McDonald silk 1 6. READY TO IMPRESS (USA) 9/110
J: Nicky Mackay  
T: John Gosden  
11 ran. NRs: 10  7 


1st Robert Tart silk 11. MASTER SINGER (USA) 2/13f
2nd Pat Cosgrave silk 1 4. GOLDMEMBER 11/112
3rd Ted Durcan silk 7. KASPERENKO 3/14
J: Robert Tart  
T: John Gosden  
All 12 ran.


1st P. J. McDonald silk 10. LOVE OASIS 7/18
2nd Richard Kingscote silk ½ 9. FOUR DRAGONS 9/110
3rd Kevin Stott silk nk 4. KODICAT (IRE) 9/25.5
12 ran. NRs: 1 


1st Miss P. Fuller silk 5. GLOBAL THRILL 4/15
2nd Miss L. M. Pinchin silk 5 8. BRING BACK CHARLIE 7/18
3rd Miss A. E. Stirling silk 4. CHILLI ROMANCE (IRE) 8/19
J: Miss P. Fuller (5)  
12 ran. NRs: 11  7 


1st Stevie Donohoe silk 1. AHUNDREDNOTOUT 8/19
2nd Paddy Pilley silk ½ 2. BLAZED (IRE) 13/82.62f
3rd Callum Shepherd silk 1 4. RAFFLE KING (IRE) 5/23.5
9 ran. NRs: 7 
Go to Horse Racing Results