Bet Slip
My Bet Slip
How to use My Betslip
Placing a Single Bet Placing a Multiple Bet Manage bookmakers

Simply click a price on Race Passes and we’ll take you off to place your bet with your favourite bookmaker. You can also place single bets from the Bet Slip – just click the price in the Bet Slip.

Our Bet Slip allows you to build up your selections before you begin placing multiple bets with your favourite bookmakers. Click the +BET button to add your selections and then, when you’re ready, hit ‘Bet Now’ to go to your chosen bookmaker’s site and place your bets.

Select the bookmaker prices you want to display on Race Passes by switching the toggles between show and hide in the Bookmaker Manager, or use the Currently Showing selection screen. We will automatically display the best odds from your chosen bookmakers.

Note that Betfair Exchange prices are available to logged in customers only and are not included in the best odds calculation.

Bets Odds
You currently have no selections.
timeform logo mini sign in to timeformSign In

register to timeformRegister Free Bets
timeform menu collapse

Analysing how the big trainers fare in January


Andrew Asquith examines the records of some of Britain's leading trainers.

January is often a quieter month than normal for National Hunt trainers, mainly down to the fact that the Cheltenham Festival is just around the corner, and that most yards use January to give their horses an annual flu jab. There are some trainers, however, who maintain high levels in the first month of the year.

Over the last five years Nicky Henderson’s strike rate in January is 31%, whereas his average strike rate over the last five seasons is 24.2%. Admittedly, the latter is over a much bigger sample of runners, but it still shows that Henderson doesn’t suffer a dip in form during this period. The yard have had a high turnover of runners, too, saddling 284 horses. Backing Henderson’s horses blind in January would have returned you a level-stake profit of 46.22 at Betfair SP.

Similarly, Harry Fry figures prominently in terms of strike rate and profit. He has operated at a strike rate of 28.7% in January over the last five seasons and, just like Henderson, this is higher than his average seasonal strike rate of 22%. A healthy level-stake profit of 33.50 at Betfair SP is also noteworthy and he has already made a flying start to this year, with five winners from just 13 runners (at the time of writing).

However, the most profitable trainer in January over the last five years has been Sue Smith, who has returned a level-stake profit of 124.68 at Betfair SP. She endured a torrid start to this season, having to wait until the 24th November for her first winner - in the shape of Informateur who won a handicap hurdle at Uttoxeter – but has been going along steadily since. She duly saddled a winner with her first runner in January when Midnight Shadow – albeit fortuitously – won the Dipper Novices’ Chase at Cheltenham on New Year’s Day.

You would expect the leading yards to have relatively consistent strike rates throughout the season, but Paul Nicholls is one who has a quieter period during January. Nicholls’ strike rate of 17.2% is below his average seasonal one of 22% and his number of runners is much reduced, too, as he has saddled just 256 horses in January over the last five years compared to the 511 in December. You would have made a loss of £32.77 at Betfair SP backing his horses in January. It is interesting, however, that his strike rate jumps to 26.2% in February, so any quiet period brought about by the administration of flu jabs does not last for long .

Jonjo O’Neill is another whose yard is quieter in January – he has just a 6.9% strike rate from 233 runners in the last five seasons. His runners tend to be at the top of their game later in the season, though, and his haul of 26 Cheltenham Festival winners is one of the best around. Tedham, who is entered in a Pertemps Qualifier at Warwick this weekend, will likely be a horse of particular interest at the Festival.



Horse racing free bet offers

  • Free £20 Exchange bet: lose & we'll refund you in cash

    New customers only, bet up to £/€20 on the Exchange and if your first bet loses, we’ll refund you £/€20 in Cash. Bet must be placed in first 7 days of account opening. T&Cs apply. T&C’s Apply. 18+|Gamble Aware

    Read Betfair Exchange Review
  • 3 x £10 in risk free bets – money back in cash if it loses

    New customers only. Bet £10 on the Sportsbook & if it loses we'll refund you in CASH. Subsequent risk free bets are available after the previous bet has settled. You can only participate with one qualifying bet at a time. Only deposits using Cards or Paypal will qualify. Max £30 refund. T&Cs apply.

    Read Paddy Power Review
  • Bet £10 get £40 in Free Bets

    New customers only – £10 deposit using promo code "RACING" - First bet must be placed on any market - Minimum stake £10 at odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & Full T&C’s apply

    Read 888sport Review
Follow us on Twitter



1st Jason Hart silk 5. PAPA STOUR (USA) 7/24.5
2nd Jane Elliott silk 7. GLORY OF PARIS (IRE) 7/18
J: Jason Hart  
All 7 ran.


1st Nicola Currie silk 1. BRAINS (IRE) 4/15
2nd Elisha Whittington silk 3 8. THE KING'S STEED 16/117
3rd Ben Curtis silk ½ 5. CHANNEL PACKET 7/18
All 9 ran.


1st Ben Curtis silk 7. STORM OVER (IRE) 9/43.25f
2nd Paul Mulrennan silk 6. CONCIERGE (IRE) 10/111
3rd Jane Elliott silk nk 2. CALDER PRINCE (IRE) 6/17
J: Ben Curtis  
8 ran. NRs: 5 


1st Dylan Hogan silk 3. NIGEL NOTT 7/24.5
2nd Jason Hart silk 1. BADAYEL (IRE) 11/43.75
J: Dylan Hogan (5)  
All 4 ran.


1st Kieran O'Neill silk 1. ELMEJOR (IRE) 7/42.75
2nd Ben Curtis silk hd 6. LEXINGTON DASH (FR) 4/51.8f
3rd Liam Keniry silk 6 5. GOOD TIME CHARLIE 16/117
T: John Best  
9 ran. NRs: 3 


1st George Rooke silk 1. DEEDS NOT WORDS (IRE) 6/42.5f
2nd Laura Pearson silk ½ 10. SPENNY'S LASS 14/115
3rd George Bass silk 8. LOTTIE DENO 8/19
J: George Rooke  
9 ran. NRs: 2 


1st Rex Dingle silk 13. COQUELICOT (FR) 1/21.5f
2nd Bryony Frost silk 8. KILMINGTON ROSE (IRE) 6/17
3rd Nick Scholfield silk 3. DOYANNIE (IRE) 20/121
J: Rex Dingle (3)  
All 14 ran.


1st Danny Cook silk 6. SILVA ECLIPSE 4/15
2nd Nico de Boinville silk 2 7. IMPERIAL KNIGHT (IRE) 10/111
3rd Aidan Coleman silk 3. DEJA VUE (IRE) 4/15
J: Danny Cook  
T: Sue Smith  
9 ran. NRs: 10 

16:10 NAVAN

1st Mr J. J. Codd silk 1. ESKYLANE (IRE) 8/151.53f
2nd Mr P. W. Mullins silk 4. DON'T TELL ALLEN (IRE) 5/16
All 5 ran.
Go to Horse Racing Results