Bet Slip
My Bet Slip
How to use My Betslip
Placing a Single Bet Placing a Multiple Bet Manage bookmakers

Simply click a price on Race Passes and we’ll take you off to place your bet with your favourite bookmaker. You can also place single bets from the Bet Slip – just click the price in the Bet Slip.

Our Bet Slip allows you to build up your selections before you begin placing multiple bets with your favourite bookmakers. Click the +BET button to add your selections and then, when you’re ready, hit ‘Bet Now’ to go to your chosen bookmaker’s site and place your bets.

Select the bookmaker prices you want to display on Race Passes by switching the toggles between show and hide in the Bookmaker Manager, or use the Currently Showing selection screen. We will automatically display the best odds from your chosen bookmakers.

Note that Betfair Exchange prices are available to logged in customers only and are not included in the best odds calculation.

Bets Odds
You currently have no selections.
timeform logo mini sign in to timeformSign In

register to timeformRegister Free Bets
timeform menu collapse
search timeform's website

Iconic races of the 2000s: Sea The Stars' Arc


In a new series of articles, Timeform revisit some of the most iconic races of the 2000s. Here we take a look at Sea The Stars' iconic victory in the 2009 Prix de L'Arc de Triomphe.


Sea The Stars had carried all before him during his classic campaign, winning the 2000 Guineas on his reappearance before becoming the first horse since Nashwan in 1989 to also win the Derby.

Already at the top of an above average three-year-old tree, he took his form to new heights by beating his elders in a thrilling edition of the Eclipse, and he then went on to notch his fourth Group 1 of the campaign the Juddmonte International at York.

A spectacular performance in the Irish Champion Stakes at Leopardstown paved the way for a bid at the Prix de L'Arc de Triomphe…

The race

The pre-race focus understandably centred around Sea The Stars and his bid to extend his remarkable winning sequence at the highest level. That didn’t stop 18 rivals taking him on, making it one of the largest Arc fields in recent years, but it did seem more a case of quantity rather than quality, with a good third of the field either makeweights or pacemakers, the lure of six-figure prizes down to fifth place too much to refuse for many owners.

Sea The Stars had already secured his place among the best horses in Timeform’s experience, and it was always unlikely that he would need to match, let alone exceed, the sort of performance he had put up in the Eclipse or the Irish Champion Stakes to prevail, particularly given he had cosily beaten the pair the market considered his main rivals, Fame And Glory and Conduit.

The race was far from plain sailing for Sea The Stars, however, as, after breaking well, he took a strong hold and was fighting for his head before eventually settling down about halfway down the main field towards the inside.

As they made the turn for home, pacemaker Set Sail was still a long way in front, with his nearest pursuer, Grand Ducal, himself clear of the remainder of the pack. Sea The Stars still had plenty to do and looked in danger of being crowded out as Getaway made a move to come up his inner, and even after edging his way past that rival Mick Kinane had to steer his mount around the weakening pacemakers.

A thrilling finish was to ensue, with Sea The Stars needing to show all his class to secure a passage, quickening between the leaders and producing a decisive turn of foot that saw him assert a furlong from home. He was well on top inside the final furlong and was eased down to eventually win by two lengths.

This was not a vintage Arc line-up, and a two-length beating of Youmzain didn’t make Sea The Stars’ performance stand out in terms of bare form. However, once again, Sea The Stars had come through the test with flying colours, capping a faultless campaign and securing his legacy as an all-time great.

The aftermath

Following victory in the Arc, Sea The Stars’ connections faced a difficult decision regarding his participation in the Breeders’ Cup Classic. Victory in North America’s richest race would have been a real feather in his cap, particularly considering Dancing Brave, with whom Sea The Stars had been compared, found the American showpiece a race too far, but it was however decided that Sea The Stars would not make the trip to America and would instead be retired to stud.

Since then Sea The Stars has sired a total of 12 Group 1 winners and counting, including 2016 Derby winner Harzand.



Horse racing free bet offers

  • Bet £10 get £35 in Free Bets

    Min €/£10 bet on any Sportsbook market, min odds 1.2 (1.5), max €/£30 Sportsbook free bets. Only deposits made using Cards or ApplePay will qualify. €/£5 Exchange mobile free bet can be claimed from the promotions hub after bet settlement, market restrictions apply, see full terms. T&Cs apply.

    Read Betfair Review
  • Bet £10, get £30 in Free Bets + £10 Casino

    Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Casino Bonus must be claimed within 7 days • To withdraw bonus/related wins, wager bonus amount x40 within 14 days • Wagering req. vary by game • Deposit methods, Withdrawal restrictions and Full T&C’s apply

    Read 888sport Review
  • £20 risk-free first bet – money back in cash if it loses

    New customers only, limited to one per person. If you’ve previously had a Paddy Power account, you will not qualify for the offer. Place your FIRST bet on any Sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is £20. Only deposits made using Cards or Paypal will qualify for this promotion. T&Cs apply.

    Read Paddy Power Review


race pass logo


Monday 01 June
Ben Curtis silk Ben Curtis sectional
Philip Kirby
8. MAKAWEE (IRE) 112
Daniel Tudhope silk Daniel Tudhope
David O'Meara
Joe Fanning silk Joe Fanning
Mark Johnston
Go to Full Race



1st Ludovic Boisseau silk 10. YOUMDOR (FR) 43/10
2nd Theo Bachelot silk nk 6. THE GOOD MAN (FR) 10/1
3rd Pierre-Charles Boudot silk ¾ 3. SOUS LES NUAGES (IRE) 82/10
All 14 ran.


1st Mickael Barzalona silk 5. ROSE GOLD (FR) 6/10f
2nd Eddy Hardouin silk 2 7. JUBILATION (IRE) 10/1
All 7 ran.


1st Theo Bachelot silk 3. AXDAVALI (FR) 1/2cp
2nd Cristian Demuro silk 7 2. CHANT D'AUTOMNE (FR) 14/1
All 6 ran.
Go to Horse Racing Results