timeform brand Back to top^

Guide to the
Cheltenham Festival

free timeform Free Bets

Cheltenham Festival: Most successful Trainers of all time

cheltenham tips

Posted in: Cheltenham Festival News

Find out who are the most successful trainers of all time at the Cheltenham Festival and which current trainer has won the top trainer award on the most occasions.

Top Festival Jockeys

The Irish Independent Leading Trainer Award went to Gordon Elliott for the second successive year in 2018. Elliott recorded eight winners across the four days, equalling the record haul established by Willie Mullins in 2015.

Mullins himself enjoyed seven winners this year, which enabled him to overhaul Nicky Henderson as the most successful trainer of all-time at The Festival with 61 successes.

Henderson's two winners in 2018 were in a couple of the feature races, with a seventh Grade 1 Unibet Champion Hurdle through Buveur d'Air and a fifth Grade 1 Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase courtesy of Altior.

Contested for the second time in 2018, the NetJets Leading Owner Award went to Michael O'Leary's Gigginstown House Stud for the second successive year, with a sparkling seven winners, among them four Grade 1 victories including the Ryanair Chase with the Henry de Bromhead-trained Balko des Flos.

JP McManus, who had two winners during the week, remains as the most successful owner ever at The Festival, with 54 victories, with Gigginstown House Stud on 26.


The most successful trainers of all time at The Festival

61 Willie Mullins IRE (1995-present)

60 Nicky Henderson (1985-present)

43 Paul Nicholls (1999-present)

40 Fulke Walwyn (1946-86)

34 Martin Pipe (1981-2006)

28 Fred Winter (1970-1988)

27 Fred Rimell (1948-1981)

26 Tom Dreaper IRE (1946-1971)

26 Jonjo O’Neill (1991-present)

23 Vincent O’Brien IRE (1948-1959)

23 Bob Turnell (1956-1980)

22 Ivor Anthony (1930-1952)

22 Gordon Elliott IRE (2011-present)

19 George Beeby (1930-1959)

19 Philip Hobbs (1990-present)

18 Edward O’Grady IRE (1974-present)

17 David Nicholson (1986-1999)

17 Nigel Twiston-Davies (1992-present)

15 Harry Brown (1920-1938)

15 Tom Coulthwaite (1911-1936)

15 Alan King (2004-present)

15 David Pipe (2007-present)

15 Tom Rimell (1927-1949)

14 Dan Moore IRE (1953-1979)

13 Jack Anthony (1929-1950)

13 Peter Easterby (1967-1986)

13 Tim Forster (1963-1998)

12 John Edwards (1969-1994)

12 Tom Jones (1965-1978)

Current trainers in bold (NB trainers of some of the earliest winners were not recorded)


The most successful current trainers at The Festival

61 Willie Mullins IRE

60 Nicky Henderson

43 Paul Nicholls

26 Jonjo O’Neill

22 Gordon Elliott IRE

19 Philip Hobbs

18 Edward O’Grady IRE

17 Nigel Twiston-Davies

15 Alan King

15 David Pipe

11 Jessica Harrington IRE

10 Ferdy Murphy FR

9 David Elsworth

8 Enda Bolger IRE

8 Arthur Moore IRE

7 Mouse Morris IRE

7 Colin Tizzard

6 Tony Martin IRE

6 Donald McCain

6 Aidan O’Brien IRE

6 Oliver Sherwood

6 Venetia Williams

5 Henry de Bromhead IRE

5 Noel Meade IRE


Winners Of The Irish Independent Leading Trainer Award

2018 Gordon Elliott IRE (8)

2017 Gordon Elliott IRE (6)

2016 Willie Mullins IRE (7)

2015 Willie Mullins IRE (8)

2014 Willie Mullins IRE (4)

2013 Willie Mullins IRE (5)

2012 Nicky Henderson (7)

2011 Willie Mullins IRE (4)

2010 Nicky Henderson (3)

2009 Paul Nicholls (5)

2008 Paul Nicholls (3)

2007 Paul Nicholls (4)

2006 Paul Nicholls (3)

2005 Howard Johnson (3)

2004 Paul Nicholls (4)

2003 Jonjo O’Neill (3)

2002 Martin Pipe (3)

2001 Cancelled

2000 Nicky Henderson (4)

1999 Paul Nicholls (3)

1998 Martin Pipe (4)

1997 Martin Pipe (4)

1996 Ferdy Murphy, Edward O’Grady IRE, Martin Pipe (2)

1995 David Nicholson (3)

1994 David Nicholson, Edward O’Grady IRE (2)

1993 Nicky Henderson, Martin Pipe, Nigel Twiston-Davies (2)

1992 Nicky Henderson, David Nicholson, Simon Sherwood (2)

1991 Martin Pipe (3)

1990 Nicky Henderson (2)

1989 Toby Balding, John Edwards, David Elsworth, Josh Gifford, Martin Pipe (2)

1988 Josh Gifford (3)

1987 Toby Balding, Nicky Henderson, Fred Winter (2)

1986 Nicky Henderson (3)

1985 Nicky Henderson (3)

1984 Michael Dickinson (3)

1983 Michael Dickinson (3)

1982 Michael Dickinson (3)

1981 Peter Easterby (3)

1980 John Edwards, Edward O’Grady IRE, Bob Turnell, Fred Winter (2) 


Top Cheltenham Festival Jockeys

Cheltenham Latest News


Days Hours Mins Secs



Horse racing free bet offers


    Place a min £10 bet on the Sportsbook on odds of min 1/2 (1.5), get £30 in Free Bets. Rewards valid for 30 days. SMS verification required. Only deposits via cards or Apple Pay will qualify. T&Cs apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

    Read Betfair Review
  • Sign up and bet £20 - Get your money back as cash if it loses

    New customers only. Place your FIRST bet on any Horse Racing market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is £20. Only deposits made using cards will qualify for this promotion. T&Cs apply.

    Read Paddy Power Review
  • Bet £10 Get £60 in bonuses

    New UK customers only. Register using the promo code BETFRED60, deposit and place first bet of £10+ on Sports (cumulative Evens+) within 7 days of registration. First bet must be on Sports. £20 in Free Bets to be used on Sports, £10 in Free Bets to be used on Lotto and 50 Free Spins (20p per spin) credited within 48 hours of bet settlement. Further £20 in Free Bets credited 5 days after settlement. Bonuses have a 7-day expiry. Payment restrictions apply. SMS verification and/or Proof of I.D and address may be required. Full T&Cs apply.

    Read Betfred Review
See all free bet offers


23% Tristan Davidson's strike rate with horses running over 10f+ (saddles PROTON)