timeform brand Back to top^

Guide to the
Cheltenham Festival

free timeform Free Bets

Cheltenham Festival: Most successful Jockeys of all time

cheltenham tips

Posted in: Cheltenham Festival News

timeform mobile app
Find out who are the most successful jockeys of all time at the Cheltenham Festival and which current jockey has won the top jockey award on the most occasions.

Top Festival Trainers

The Holland Cooper Leading Jockey Award went to Davy Russell for the first time in 2018. The popular 38-yearold partnered four winners at The Festival 2018, including Grade 1 successes on Presenting Percy in the RSA Insurance Novices’ Chase on the Wednesday, Ladies Day, and aboard Balko Des Flos in the Ryanair Chase on St Patrick’s Thursday.

Russell narrowly edged out 18-year-old Jack Kennedy for The Festival riding honours. Kennedy also rode a quartet of winners across the four days, but lost out on second places. It was the most successful year ever for female jockeys at The Festival, with four wins.

Lizzie Kelly created history by becoming the first female professional to score at The Festival when capturing the Ultima Handicap Chase on the Tuesday, Champion Day, aboard Coo Star Sivola. Bridget Andrews was the second female professional to succeed at The Festival on Mohaayed in the Randox Health County Handicap Hurdle on Gold Cup Day.

Amateurs Katie Walsh (her third win at The Festival) and Harriet Tucker (on her first ride at The Festival & overcoming a dislocated shoulder) were also on the scoreboard in the Grade 1 Weatherbys Champion Bumper (Ladies Day) and the St. James’s Place Foxhunter (Gold Cup Day) respectively. The first of the 14 women to have enjoyed success in the saddle at The Festival was Caroline Beasley, who took the 1983 Foxhunter Chase on Eliogarty.


The most successful jockeys of all time at The Festival

58 Ruby Walsh

36 Barry Geraghty

31 Sir A P McCoy

25 Pat Taaffe

23 Richard Johnson

22 Davy Russell

18 Richard Dunwoody

17 Charlie Swan

17 Fred Winter

16 Robert Thornton

14 Paul Carberry

14 Mick Fitzgerald

13 Peter Scudamore

10 Tom Scudamore

8 Bryan Cooper

8 Timmy Murphy

8 Paul Townend

7 Ms Nina Carberry

7 Mr Jamie Codd

7 Nico de Boinville

7 Sam Twiston-Davies

6 Paddy Brennan

6 Noel Fehily

5 Jack Kennedy

4 Andrew Lynch

4 Mr Patrick Mullins

4 Denis O’Regan

4 Robbie Power

4 Mr Sam Waley-Cohen

Current jockeys in bold


Winners of the Holland Cooper Leading Jockey Award

2018 Davy Russell (4)

2017 Ruby Walsh (4)

2016 Ruby Walsh (7)

2015 Ruby Walsh (4)

2014 Ruby Walsh (3)

2013 Ruby Walsh (4)

2012 Barry Geraghty (5)

2011 Ruby Walsh (5)

2010 Ruby Walsh (3)

2009 Ruby Walsh (7)

2008 Ruby Walsh (3)

2007 Robert Thornton (4)

2006 Ruby Walsh (3)

2005 Graham Lee (3)

2004 Ruby Walsh (3)

2003 Barry Geraghty (5)

2002 Richard Johnson (2)

2001 cancelled - foot & mouth

2000 Mick Fitzgerald (4)

1999 Mick Fitzgerald (4)

1998 A P McCoy (5)

1997 A P McCoy (3)

1996 Richard Dunwoody (2)

1995 Norman Williamson (4)

1994 Charlie Swan (3)

1993 Charlie Swan (4)

1992 Jamie Osborne (5)

1991 Peter Scudamore (2)

1990 Richard Dunwoody (2)

1989 Tom Morgan (2)

1988 Simon Sherwood (2)

1987 Peter Scudamore (2)

1986 Peter Scudamore (2)

1985 Steve Smith Eccles (3)

1984 Jonjo O'Neill (2)

1983 Graham Bradley (2)

1982 Jonjo O'Neill (1)

1981 John Francome (3)

1980 Mr Jim Wilson (3)

Current jockeys in bold


Top Cheltenham Festival Trainers

Cheltenham Latest News


Days Hours Mins Secs



Horse racing free bet offers

  • Bet £10, Get £20 in Free Bets

    *New members. £10 min deposit & bet on sportsbook, placed & settled at 1.5 min odds within 14 days of sign-up. Win part of E/W bets. 2 non-withdrawable £10 Free Bet Tokens: accept in 7 days, valid for 7 days from acceptance (ex. E/Ws & Multiples), stakes not returned. Click here for Rules & Exclusions. Bet Responsibly. BeGambleAware.org

    Read Virgin Bet Review
  • Get up to £100 in free bets

    New customer offer. Place 5 x €/£10 or more bets to receive €/£20 in free bets. Repeat up to 5 times to receive maximum €/£100 bonus. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Exchange bets excluded. T&Cs apply.

    Read Betfair Review
  • Bet £10, get £20 in free bets

    Valid only when applying through a link from one of our partner sites. Qualifying fixed odds bet must be at odds of 1/2 or greater. Qualifying bet cannot be placed in-play or cashed out early. First free bet will be credited upon settlement of the qualifying bet. Second free bet will be credited the next day. Offer must be claimed within 28 days of opening. Free bet stake not included in any winnings. Ts&Cs Apply. 18+ begambleaware.org

    Read Spreadex Review
See all free bet offers


3 Mark Johnston's number of winners in past 9 runnings. (saddles HAPPY)
21% Mark Johnston's strike rate at BEVERLEY since the start of the 2017 season (saddles HAPPY)
£42.75 Alan King's profit to a £1 level stake with horses running after a break (saddles SONNING)